Margaret Kurkoski ’12 from Turkey

Two weeks ago, I was on Istiklal Caddesi, the most famous street in Istanbul, surrounded by musicians, coffeeshops and crowds of busy shoppers. One week ago, I was wandering around ancient Termessos, nearly alone on an isolated mountain and surrounded by monuments predating the Byzantine Emperor Constantine. I’ve only been living in Turkey for three months now, and already a year doesn’t seem like enough time to see everything this country has to offer.

Teaching has granted me the chance to give back to Turkey as I’m learning from it. Currently, I am the only native English speaker in the foreign languages department of my university, and I focus on speaking and listening skills. Every day, I’m challenged and energized by my students, most of whom will one day be English teachers themselves. It has been a steep learning curve at times, particularly as a complete newcomer to the profession, but I am really excited by what each work day brings.

Leave a Reply

